My mom has been pushing strawberries and cream desserts this weekend, especially since she got back from a Cuban restaurant where she had that very dish and she found it to be incredible. I passed on it last night, but tonight I took her up on her offer.  I made it myself since I MUST have my food looking pretty.

The finished product. I didn't take photos of the construction.

The finished product. I didn't take photos of the construction.

The taking of the wafer cookie.  Yes, that's an Ikea fork.

The taking of the wafer cookie. Yes, that's an Ikea fork.

With the whipped cream mixed in.

With the whipped cream mixed in.

Halfway done!!

Halfway done!!

Done!! Yummy :)

Done!! Yummy 🙂

Now you might be wondering: Caitlin McFly, why does Mommy McFly suddenly need to have strawberries and cream as a dessert now all the time? Wasn’t the dessert at the restaurant special and magical and therefore should not be replicated at home?
Why, yes, reader, I agree with you. But as to why, I think it’s because of me. She started describing the cream that was used on the fruit–sweet, thick, sort of a caramel taste–and she realized that it was just a condensed milk sort of sauce. I brought up home replication, and, well, that was that.

The sauce. It sounds like a drug.

The sauce itself. And part of my retrotastic kitchen.

And what do they sell in the aisle with powdered milk and flour and baking goods? That’s right! A Spanish [note: “Spanish”  used as an umbrella term) dulce leche sauce in a bottle!

This was my first time trying the sauce, but every time I’ve walked by it in the supermarket I’ve wanted to pick it up and try it. I think there was sort of an intimidation factor to it, considering that it looks like pudding, and on the bottle it’s being poured over melon. Melon! Ew! So, I never got it. It took my mom’s desire to replicate a special, one-of-a-kind dessert on a rare childless night out for it to finally enter our home. She had high expectations for it, apparently, as there were two bottles in the fridge last I checked.

If you’re curious about trying it since I have, let me tell you what I thought. I liked it quite a lot, actually–texturally, it’s somewhere between a thick syrup and a runny pudding. It coated the fruit rather well, and it stuck to the wafer roll cookie that I had put in as garnish. The leche had a very caramel taste to it generally, and my oral reaction was reminiscent of eating a thick, rich cheesecake with a sort of pucker. I’m definitely going to try and find other uses for it….such as on cake. Mmmm. Leche cake.

